DOT BP Guidelines

What is the effect on driver certification based on FMCSA hypertension stages?

A driver with a diagnosis of hypertension on treatment should have at least an annual certification.

A driver with a Blood pressure (BP) 140/90 may be certified for 2 years.

First time BP elevated:

Stage 1 – BP 140-159/90-99 Certification Period 1 year

Stage 2 – BP 160-179/100-109 Certification Period 3 months as one time certification.

Within the 3 months, if the blood pressure is below 140/90, the driver may receive 1 year certification.

Stage 3 – BP Reading >180/110 Disqualified. When the blood pressure is less than 140/90, the driver can be certified at 6 month intervals.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Categorized in: Uncategorized